All About Moose News Blog

What is the Legal Limit For Window Tint?

Aug 5


In California the lawful window tinting limit is 70 percent light transmittance. This is a great base to start from because it makes the tints look more natural, however it isn't always in line with the rules in other states. In fact, some states are more stringent than others and don't even allow tints on windows of any kind in any way. If you live in one of these states, read on for more information.

What is the Legal Limit For Window Tint?

South Carolina

South Carolina's window tint laws prohibit the use of film with more than 20 percent. The legal window tint limit is slightly higher for cars with more tint than. South Carolina permits up to twenty percent tinting for MPVs back windows, unlike other states. This dark film can be applied on all windows, except the front. It is also illegal to apply tint that is brighter than the normal window, regardless of the manufacturer's recommendations.

The darkest window tint allowed in South Carolina is 27%. In addition to the windshield, the rear and side windows can be tinted and the three-inch top of the windshield. This film could provide UV protection and reduce glare, as well as privacy advantages. While the tint can be non-reflective , it is not able to hinder visible light from entering your vehicle. According to the Newberry Observer, Prosperity, SC law enforcement officers have stopped Prosperity residents due to windows with dark tints.

New York

The New York legal limit for window tinting is determined by the kind of vehicle used and the amount of light it can block. Passenger cars must meet a 70 percent standard. Multipurpose vehicles (also called passenger cars) must meet more stringent standards. They must have a lower motive power of ten horses or less and a truck chassis or bus chassis, special features that permit occasional off-road operation, and other special features. The vehicles shouldn't be equipped with more than 70 percent of their window space coated with film.

Most states allow tinting of windows, however New York is different. It is recommended to check your state's DMV website to find out the exact limitations. The right tint could aid in avoiding an infringement and fine. Tinting your windows can give you privacy as well as reduce the amount of glare. If you keep within the guidelines, however you won't have anything to worry about. These laws don't apply to commercial buildings. It's worth consulting the local DMV to get clarification.


Be aware of the Virginia legal limits for window tinting. As with other states, Virginia has its own rules and restrictions. You can easily stay out of trouble if you know the rules. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is available to you if have any concerns. Their online resources can help you determine what the limitations are and what you are allowed and not permitted to do.

Virginia window tint laws are strict. You could be arrested for tinting windows in Virginia. This is a misdemeanor class 3. Along with the fines, you'll be required to remove the window film. Repeat offenders may be sentenced to jail. Fines begin at $96. You can, however, avoid paying these penalties by providing evidence that you have removed or remedied your vehicle.


Window tinting laws differ between the states and the next. Georgia's tinting regulations require that the tint be at least a certain level to block reflections from windows, but not too high that it blinds drivers in front. Additionally, Georgian tint laws do not specify a specific level of tint for side mirrors. People often ask what tint is legal in Georgia and what are the legal limits. Here's what you need to know.

Georgia law requires that tints for front and rear windows must not be lower than 32 percent VLT. For rear windows, they can be tinted to 32% VLT or greater however they can't be more darkened. The tinting of your windshield can be not less than 6 inches, but you cannot tint the side windows lower. You will need to choose the tint that allows more light than 32 percent VLT.


There are different shades of tint darkness for different windows of your car. The front windshield of your car must have no tinting. But, your rear and passenger sides windows can be tinted up to 35%. However, the tinting on the back and passenger side windows cannot exceed 20 percent. It is not legal to tint your rear or front windows by more than 35 percent of your total area.

Window tints can be installed in cars to offer security and to reduce heat. Missouri law requires that the front and side windows must reflect at minimum 35 percent. This means that even most modestly tinted windows can reduce heat and glare much more effectively than windows that are fully protected. It's essential to verify the laws in your area before tinting your windows.

Phone +18474292479
408 Brook St, Elgin, IL 60120