What is that this cloud Your information to cloud recognizing

Posted by Jeff on Nov 18, 2020 @ 6:49 am in Conservation | 0 comments | Last change: November 17, 2020

Clouds are divided into 10 different types, which are arranged according to the shape and height of the location.

The generic names all consist of the same five Latin terms – Cirro, Cumulo, Strato, Nimbo, Alt – which are mixed and matched to create names like Cumulonimbus, Cirrostratus, Cirrocumuus … You have the idea. Learning what each of these Latin roots means is key to keeping your clouds straight:

  • Cumulo means “heaped”. Think puffy, stacked marshmallow clouds.
  • Strato means “layered”. Clouds with Strato in their name are often flat and form a broad layer over the sky.
  • Nimbo means “rain” and is used for the two clouds that regularly produce rain.
  • Cirro means “curl”. These clouds are sometimes (but not always) curled up and located in the highest layer of the troposphere.
  • Alto means “high”. Confusingly, this does not mean that the clouds are in the highest part of the atmosphere, but that the cloud is higher compared to others of its kind.

Now that we’ve got the Latin lesson out of the way, let’s examine the 10 types of clouds. There are two ways to group clouds, either by height (low, medium, or high) or by shape (layer, pile, layer pile, rain, wispy).

Get the full lesson here …

Similar posts:

The following links are chargeable. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualified purchases.

Related Articles